Marble Falls High School Mustang Football earns district, state honors



Article Image Alt Text

Richard Zowie/The Highlander
Mustang Football players earning All-State Academic Honors are, from left, kneeling: Honorable Mention: Zach Fearn, Chance Haley, and Braidon Whiteside; standing: First Team: Brock Linder and Andrew Stripling; Second Team: Genaro Arregin and Dillon Mayberry.





Compiled by Richard Zowie
Sports Editor

Many Marble Falls High School Varsity Football athletes received both athletic and academic honors for their prowess on the football field and in the classroom.


District 13-5A, 2018 All-District

First Team

Andrew Stripling, a senior, was named First Team Quarterback

Josh Whitecotton, a junior, made First Team Lineman.

Zach Fearn, a senior, made First Team Linebacker.


Second Team

Senior Dillon Mayberry made Second Team Tight End, while senior Brock Linder made Second Team Wide Out.

Genaro Arreguin, a senior, made Second Team Offensive Line.

Senior Chance Haley made All-Center.

On defense, Sam May, a junior, made Second-Team Defensive Lineman.


Honorable Mention

Eight Mustangs made Honorable Mention for District 13-5A.

For offense: seniors Braidon Whiteside (offensive lineman) and Cooper Wilson (running back); and sophomore Luke Nail (wide receiver).

For defense: senior Reece VanHoose (linebacker); juniors Ben Anderson (defensive back) and Carlos DeLaHoya (defensive lineman); sophomores Lance Long (defensive back) and Gabe Perez (defensive end).


5A Academic All-State

First Team: Brock Linder and Andrew Stripling.

Second Team: Genaro Arregin and Dillon Mayberry.

Honorable Mention: Zach Fearn, Chance Haley, and Braidon Whiteside.


26-5A Academic All-District

Joshua Allen made the A-Honor Roll.

The following made 26-5A Academic All-District: Ben Anderson, Genaro Arreguin, Andy Arreguin, Logan Barnes, Garreth Corley, Warren Cuplin, Zach Fearn, Chance Haley, Kyle Hanshaw, Tommy Johnson, Evan Kroese, Brock Linder, Lance Long, Ernesto Martinez, Mason Neill, Lance Poling, Casey Salazar, Andrew Stripling, Elijah Todd, Reece VanHoose, and Hayden Wells.

Rate this article: 
Average: 3.5 (2 votes)