Early voting under way in Burnet, Llano counties



Article Image Alt Text

Cindi Fry/The Highlander
Early voting got off to a brisk start Oct. 22 at the Marble Falls south annex of the Burnet County Courthouse.



By Lew K. Cohn
Managing Editor

Early voting in Burnet and Llano counties has begun for the Thursday, Nov. 6, general election and will continue through Friday, Nov. 2.

In Burnet County, in addition to state and county races, the ballot contains a $55 million bond measure for Marble Falls ISD; the creation of Marble Falls Ranch Fresh Water Supply District No. 1 and election of a board of supervisors; and a four-person race for three council positions in Horseshoe Bay (which holds its municipal elections on the same date as the general election each year).

In Llano County, Horseshoe Bay voters will choose council members, while those who live in the portion of Llano County where Johnson City ISD overlaps will vote for or against a $10.86 million bond issue.

Early voting in Burnet County will be held at the Burnet County Courthouse, 220 S. Pierce, Burnet; the Marble Falls Courthouse South Annex, 810 Steve Hawkins Pkwy., Marble Falls; and Marble Falls Middle School, 1511 Pony Drive, Marble Falls. The polling locations will be open from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday except for Thursday, Oct. 25, and Thursday, Nov. 1, when polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

Early voting in Llano County will be held at the Llano County Library, 102 E. Haynie, Llano; the Kingsland Public Library, 125 W. Polk, Kingsland; and Horseshoe Bay Property Owners Association, 107 Twilight, Horseshoe Bay.

Llano County Library will be open from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Oct. 22-26 and from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Oct. 29-Nov. 2. Kingsland Library will be open from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. Monday through Friday and Horseshoe Bay Property Owners Association will be open from 9 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. Monday through Friday.

The last day to apply for a ballot by mail is Oct. 26. Polls will be open on Election Day from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. at various precincts. For more information on voting precincts, go to burnetcountytexas.org/page/elect.home.

National, state races

Contested races include the U.S. Senate race between Republican incumbent U.S. Sen. Ted Cruz, Democratic challenger U.S. Rep. Beto O'Rourke and Libertarian Neal M. Dikeman, as well as the Texas gubernatorial race between incumbent Republican Gov. Greg Abbott, Democratic challenger Lupe Valdez and Libertarian Mark Jay Tippetts.

In the U.S. House race for District 25, incumbent U.S. Rep. Roger Williams, R-Austin, faces Democrat Julie Oliver and Libertarian Deserae Lindsey. In the race for Texas House District 20, state Rep. Terry Wilson, R-Marble Falls, has a Democratic opponent in Stephen Wyman.

The Third Court of Appeals has four contested races. In Place 2, Republican Cindy Olson Bourland faces Democrat Edward Smith. In Place 3, Republican Scott Field faces Democrat Chari Kelly. In Place 5, Republican David Puryear and Democrat Thomas J. Baker are opponents. Finally, there are three candidates in Place 6: Republican Mike Toth, Democrat Gisele Triana and write-in candidate Kerry O'Brien.

Other contested races include the following:

* Lt. Gov. Dan Patrick, a Republican, has challengers in Democrat Mike Collier and Libertarian Kerry Douglas McKennon.

* Attorney General Ken Paxton, a Republican, faces off against Democrat Justin Nelson and Libertarian Michael Ray Harris.

* Republican Comptroller Glenn Hegar has two challengers, Democrat Joi Chevalier and Libertarian Ben Sanders.

* Land Commissioner George P. Bush, a Republican, faces Democrat Miguel Suazo and Libertarian Matt Pina.

* Republican Ag Commissioner Sid Miller has opponents in Democrat Kim Wilson and Libertarian Richard Carpenter.

* Railroad Commissioner Christi Craddick, a Republican, faces off against Democrat Roman McAllen and Libertarian Mike Wright.

* There are three Texas Supreme Court races. Place 2 Justice Jimmy Blacklock faces Democrat Steven Kirkland; Republican Place 4 Justice John Devine faces Democrat R.K. Sandill; and Place 6 Republican Justice Jeff Brown faces Democrat Kathy Cheng.

* On the Court of Criminal Appeals, Presiding Judge Sharon Keller faces Democrat Maria T. (Terri) Jackson and Libertarian William Bryan Strange III; Republican Place 7 Judge Barbara Parker Hervey has an opponent in Democrat Ramona Franklin; and Place 8 Judge Michelle Slaughter's only opponent is Libertarian Mark Ash.

Burnet County

Marble Falls voters are being asked to consider a $55 million bond issue to make improvements to all seven MFISD campuses. The improvements are expected to repair, replace or renovate aging facilities, create greater security on campuses and make facilities more equitable and effective.

In Horseshoe Bay, voters will choose three new city council members. City Council members Kent Graham and Jerry Gray are up for re-election on the ballot and are joined by Frank Gracely and Elaine Waddill. Mayor Pro Tem Craig Haydon did not choose to run again.

Local Burnet County officials who will be elected without opposition include 424th District Judge Evan Clay Stubbs, County Judge James Oakley, County Court at Law Judge Linda Bayless, District Clerk Casie Walker, County Clerk Janet Walker, County Treasurer Karrie Crownover, Damon Beierle for Precinct 2 Commissioner, Precinct 4 Commissioner Joe Don Dockery, Precinct 1 Justice of the Peace Roxanne Nelson, Precinct 2 Justice of the Peace Lisa Whitehead, Jane Marie Hurst as Precinct 3 Justice of the Peace, Precinct 4 Justice of the Peace Debbie Bindseil, Chip Leake for the unexpired term of Precinct 3 Constable and Precinct 4 Constable Missy Bindseil.

Propositions to create Marble Falls Ranch Fresh Water Supply District No. 1 and to allow the agency to have sanitary sewer powers and to levy a maintenance tax are on the ballot, along with a supervisors' election to include candidates for five positions on the board: Charles Heimsath, Charles Betts, Michael Kennedy, James Ritts and Joel Sher.

Llano County

Llano County officials unopposed on the ballot include Ronald “Ron” Cunningham for Llano County Judge; incumbent Joyce Gillow for District Clerk; incumbent Marci Hadelder for County Clerk; incumbent Teresa Kassell for County Treasurer; incumbent Linda Raschke for Precinct 2 Commissioner; incumbent Jerry Don Moss for Precinct 4 Commissioner; incumbent John Arthur Ables for County Surveyor; incumbent Bebe Piatt for Precinct 1 Justice of the Peace; Maureen Riggs for Precinct 2 Justice of the Peace; incumbent Era Marion for Precinct 3 Justice of the Peace; and incumbent Brian Alexander for Precinct 4 Justice of the Peace.

Rate this article: 
Average: 3 (2 votes)